NetApp
Vserver : Storage > Volumes : Configuring volumes : Deleting Snapshot copies

Deleting Snapshot copies
You can delete a Snapshot copy to conserve space or to free disk space, or you can delete the Snapshot copy if it is no longer required.
Before you begin 
To delete a Snapshot copy that is busy or locked, you must have released the Snapshot copy from the application that was using it.
About this task 
•
The base Snapshot copy is the Snapshot copy that is used to create the FlexClone volume, and always displays the status busy and Application Dependency as busy,vclone in the parent volume.
•
The Snapshot copy is locked and is required for the next update.
For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the Clustered Data ONTAP Data Protection Guide.
Steps 
1.
From the home page, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
Expand the Storage Virtual Machines hierarchy in the left navigation pane.
3.
In the navigation pane, select the Storage Virtual Machine (SVM), and click Storage > Volumes or Infinite Volumes.
4.
Select the appropriate volume that contains the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
5.
Click Snapshot Copies in the lower pane of Storage > Volumes or Infinite Volumes.
6.
In the lower window pane, select the Snapshot copy that you want to delete.
7.
Click Delete.
8.
Select the confirmation check box and click Delete.


Was this topic helpful? Send comments to NetApp.